Concrete steps towards implementation of the Solar Thermal Technology Roadmap


Submitted by Zivayi Chiguvare
Published 6 years, 3 months ago

The Permanent Secretary in the Namibian Ministry of Mines and Energy, Mr. Simeon Negumbo, has expressed his appreciation and gratitude for initiatives such as the Solar Thermal Training and Demonstration Initiative (SOLTRAIN), which is viewed as one of the best strategies for the implementation of the Cabinet Directive of 2007 on solar water heaters, and is looking forward to the Roadmap Implementation Plan which is in line with national programmes. He said this while addressing the solar thermal technologies stakeholders in Windhoek, on 20 October, 2016.

Robust discussion took place in the working groups

Members of the Solar Thermal Technology Platform (STTP) Namibia Steering Committee were also introduced to stakeholders during a workshop on the Implementation Plan of Namibia’s Solar Thermal Technology Roadmap under the SOLTRAIN project. The workshop was organised by the Namibia Energy Institute (NEI) at the Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST), together with Ministry of Mines and Energy (MME).

During the stakeholders’ workshop, concrete steps, which included the formation of five working groups to work on the Solar Thermal Technology Roadmap implementation plan for Namibia, were also taken.

The working groups deal with issues of capacity building and training, government subsidy and policy framework conditions to support the use of solar water heating systems, implementation steps in the mass housing programme of the National Housing Enterprise (NHE), different applications of solar thermal in housing, industry and commercial and demand side management. Roles and responsibilities for each stakeholder group for three years until November 2019 were also clarified.

Werner Weiss, the project leader from AEE-INTEC, spoke on the Implementation Plan of Solar Thermal Technology Roadmap and the global perspective. He highlighted different support schemes for road map implementation, giving examples of Tunisia, Lebanon, Poland and Bulgaria’s funding mechanisms towards solar thermal technology. China, USA and Germany were presented among 10 leading countries in Solar Thermal technology and usage, who have policies in place that support Solar Thermal Technologies.

Ms Lydia Mulunga, from the Electricity Control Board (ECB), presented the final draft of the Namibian Renewable Energy Policy, where she highlighted that the Solar Thermal Road Map had been adopted by the Renewable Energy Policy, together with its goals and objectives.

Group members under the leadership of Steering Committee Members met the next day to discuss the outline and to give more input to the implementation plan. The first draft of the Implementation Plan for the Solar Thermal Technology Roadmap will be presented at the SOLTRAIN Conference which will bring all SOLTRAIN partners to Windhoek, on 22-24 February 2017.

The members of the STTP Steering Committee include the following people: Mr Nico Snyders from MME (Chairperson), Dr Zivayi Chiguvare from NEI (Deputy Chairperson), Mr Vilyo Kuutondokwa (MME-Alternate Chairperson), Ms Helvi Ileka (NEI - Alternate Deputy Chair), Mr Canisius Matsungo (Ministry of Works and Transport), Dr Al-Mas Sendegeya (NUST), Mr Phellemon Kalume (Valombola Vocational Training Centre), Mr Alpheas Shindi (National Training Authority), Ms Niita - Iishuna Amakutsi (MME-Solar Revolving Fund), Ms Aina-Maria Iteta (Environmental Investment Fund), Mr David Jarret (RDJ Consulting) , Dr Detlof von Oertzen (VO Consulting), Mr. Levy Nakatana (National Youth Service) and Mr Gadney Gordon (NamPower) and Tonateni Amakutuwa (Electricity Control Board).